Home > Your Council > Committee details

Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Council is made up of the 39 elected Councillors for the Borough of Hertsmere. 


The Council meets around six times a year and its responsibilities include:


·                     Appointing the Mayor and Deputy Mayor

·                     Establishing Committees and agreeing their membership;

·                     Making any changes to the constitution, which sets out the procedures and rules under which the Council operates; and

·                     Approving the Budget and Policy Framework documents.


Meetings of the Council are broadcast on the Council’s website and can be viewed live and for a period of six months after the meeting.



Contact information

Support officer: Ms Rehill, Democratic Services. 020 8207 7423

Phone: 020 8207 7423

Email: democratic.services@hertsmere.gov.uk